Reaxys PhD Prize

No other award will impact your development as a scientist like the Reaxys PhD Prize. Embedded in a program designed to boost your career and backed by an Advisory Board of internationally accomplished and authoritative chemists, the Reaxys PhD Prize empowers young chemists.

45 winners and finalists of the Reaxys PhD Prize are invited to:

  • Join a unique, international network of the brightest minds in all chemistry research areas and career paths; the Reaxys Prize Club
  • Attend the Reaxys Inspiring Chemistry Symposium and several other events sponsored by Reaxys and Elsevier.
  • Take advantage of personal and unlimited access to the rich content of Reaxys and Reaxys Medicinal Chemistry.

In addition the 3 winners each receive $2,000 prize money.

With application submissions from over 400 academic institutions worldwide, the Reaxys PhD Prize is the most important international prize for young chemists.

How are the winners chosen?
Winners of the Reaxys PhD Prize are talented PhD students conducting original and innovative research in synthetic chemistry with demonstrated excellence in methodology and approach. They are selected from 45 finalists by a panel of leading experts who review every submission. The 3 winners will be announced in June 2015.

Selection criteria include:

  • Originality, innovation
  • Importance to the field
  • Applicability
  • Rigor of approach and methodology
  • Quality and clarity of published work
  • Supporting evidence of accomplishments (i.e., supervisor’s letter of recommendation, publication list)

The review and decision process is managed by six coordinators:

Prof Tony Barrett - Imperial College, London, UK
Prof Dr Martin Jansen - Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research, Stuttgart, Germany
Prof Eiichi Nakamura - University of Tokyo, Japan
Prof G. Parkin - Columbia University, USA
Prof Barry M. Trost - Stanford University, Stanford, CA, USA
Prof Henry N. C. Wong - Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong, China


Do you qualify?

To submit an application, you must meet the following requirements:

  • The Reaxys PhD Prize is open to students currently in a PhD program or who completed their PhD after January 1, 2014.
  • Consideration is given to all areas of chemistry, but the focus is on areas of synthetic chemistry (e.g., organic, inorganic, organometallic, coordination, medical, materials, and polymer chemistry)
  • Applications from only one candidate per research group can be accepted.
  • Completed applications must be submitted via our website and must consist of:

    • a. An example of an accepted, peer-reviewed article that primarily showcases your work.
      b. Your CV (resumé)
      c. A letter of recommendation from your PhD supervisor. The letter should include:

      • i. An overview of your qualifications and details about your achievements during your PhD studies.
        ii. A description of your role in the research submitted, highlighting your contribution to the paper included in the application.
  • Supervisors may submit their recommendation letter directly via email (
  • All materials in support of your application must be received by February 16, 2015 end of day.